The Four Cs of Diamonds

The Most Valuable Diamond

Diamonds are revered rocks, and symbols of strength and durability. They are known to be costly, however every diamond rock is not created equal, and neither is the price.

From a price perspective there are four features that determines how much a specific diamond is worth. These four aspects are the Diamond "Cut", Color, Clarity, and Carat Weight, and are referred to as the "Four Cs of Diamonds".

To better determine the value of the diamond that you are shopping for refer to the information here below.



Too Shallow

If a diamond is too shallow, light will escape from the bottom of the gemstone.


When a diamond is cut with the ideal proportions, light enters the diamond and is returned through the top of the diamond. 

Too Deep

If it is cut too deep, light will escape the pavilion. 

A diamond's overall proportions, as well as the size and position of its facets, make up the cut. The consistency and balance of these can greatly affect how the stone captures light and reflects it back to the eye. 

Studies have been conducted to find the optimum proportions of a diamond's cut, so it has the greatest amount of sparkle. If its cut falls within these parameters, it is considered an ideal cut. Commonly used terms regarding refraction and light: 

  • Brilliance - the combination of all the white light reflected from the surface and the inside of the diamond
  • Dispersion - flashes of color you see in a polished diamond. Dispersion is also known as fire. 
  • Scintillation - flashes of light you see when the diamond, the light, or the observer moves.



Color plays a crucial role in determining a diamond's value. With the exception of fancy-colored diamonds, the most valuable ones are those with minimal color. While many associate gem-quality diamonds with colorless ones, truly colorless diamonds are exceptionally rare. 

Each letter grade represents a range of color that is determined by a manual process of comparing the diamond to a master set. 

D, E, F


G, H, I, J

Near Colorless

K, L, M

Faint Yellow

N, O, P, Q, R

Very Light Yellow

S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

Light Yellow

Z + 




A diamond's clarity is measured by the existence or absence of visible flaws. Tiny surface blemishes or internal inclusions, even those seen only under magnification, can alter the brilliance of the diamond and thus affect its value. 


Flawless: No internal or external clarity characteristics


Internally Flawless: No internal clarity characteristics

WS1, WS2

Very, Very Slightly Included: Difficult to see under 10K magnification

VS1, VS2

Very Slightly Included: Inclusions not typically visible to the unaided eye

SI1, SI2

Slightly Included: Visible under 10K magnification and may be visible to the unaided eye

I1, I2, I3

Included: Inclusions visible to the unaided eye

Carat Weight

Carat weight to millimeter

Carat refers to the diamond's weight. You may also hear the weight of the diamond referred to in points. One carat is equivalent to 100 points, so a 75-point diamond is equal to 0.75 carats. Because they are rarer, larger diamonds have greater value per carat. Therefore, the price of a diamond rises exponentially in regards to its size. 

Carat weight to diameter

3/8 Carat Diamond: 4.2 mm

1/2 Carat Diamond: 5.2 mm

5/8 Carat Diamond: 5.6 mm

3/4 Carat Diamond: 5.8 mm

1.0 Carat Diamond: 6.5 mm

1.25 Carat Diamond: 7.0 mm

1.50 Carat Diamond: 7.4 mm

1.75 Carat Diamond: 7.8 mm

2.0 Carat Diamond: 8.2 mm 

2.50 Carat Diamond: 8.8 mm

3.0 Carat Diamond: 9.4 mm

4.0 Carat Diamond: 10.4 mm

5.0 Carat Diamond: 11.2 mm

Diamond Jewelry

Natural Gold Nugget and Gold Quartz with Diamond

April Birthstone: Diamond Collection

Back to browse

Back to blog